Independent Bookstore Day is Saturday, April 27th!

D.D. Black - The Fifth Victim (FBI Task Force S.W.O.R.D. Book 1)

D.D. Black - The Fifth Victim (FBI Task Force S.W.O.R.D. Book 1)

Regular price
Sale price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Now in Stock at Away With Words! Book 1 of the NEW D.D. Black Crime Series


Across the Pacific Northwest, a twisted killer stalks victims representing ancient The Ruler. The Warrior. The Scholar. The Priest. Four are dead, leaving FBI investigators puzzled by the macabre, color-coded shrines the killer left behind.

And clues now point to a fifth victim.

With only two weeks until retirement, seasoned FBI Agent Claire Anderson is desperately trying to balance her work and complex home life when she's called in for one last lead a special task force to hunt down the enigmatic "Color Killer."

That task force is the FBI's Special-Washington-Oregon-Regional-Detachment—nicknamed S.W.O.R.D. Now, Claire must marshal the talents of an eclectic crew of agents, including a brilliant criminal psychologist, a street-savvy undercover prodigy, a rugged covert-ops specialist, and a quirky tech savant.

Pursuing the killer through the rain-soaked streets and deep forests of the Pacific Northwest, the men and women of S.W.O.R.D. must delve into an ancient lost religion, its shocking view of life and death, and the dark mind of a cunning psychopath. But when clues start intertwining with Claire's own life, she realizes she’s up against a predator who's always one step ahead.

The fifth victim is closer than she ever imagined.

Dive into Book 1 of the blockbuster new FBI Task Force S.W.O.R.D Series by D.D. Black, author of the #1 international bestselling series, The Thomas Austin Crime Thrillers.